HEB Award Top Five


Board image Corsicana ISD School Board Named Top Five in Texas

The Corsicana ISD Board of Trustees has been named as one of the top five statewide finalists in the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards.

 “I would like to congratulate our Board for this tremendous honor,” said Corsicana ISD Superintendent Dr. Diane Frost. “These servant leaders tirelessly devote themselves to the welfare of our District. Through the Board’s guidance and leadership, CISD has created a student-focused culture so that students and staff continuously strive for excellence.”

According to H-E-B, this honor is designed to recognize school boards that have demonstrated real leadership in the community based on three criteria:  academic/student progress within the district; identification of community needs and specific actions based on those needs; and new and creative methods for community engagement. To determine overall statewide winner, a panel of judges visit each district, tour campuses and visit with administration, staff, parents and community members.

Corsicana ISD’s Board of Trustees includes:  Leah Blackard, Board President; Barbara Kelley, Vice President; Dr. Kent Rogers, Treasurer; Rev. Ed Monk, Cathy Branch, and Dr. Charlie Biltz.

Winners will be announced at the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards ceremony this May in Austin. If selected, the winning school board will receive up to $25,000.  The other School Board finalists include: Del Valle ISD, Socorro ISD, Grapevine-Colleyville ISD and McAllen ISD. H-E-B launched the Excellence in Education Awards program in cooperation with the Texas Association of School Administrators in 2002 as a positive way to support public education in Texas. It has become the largest monetary program for educators in the state, spotlighting best practices and celebrating the passion and creativity of Texas educators. This is the sixth year in which H-E-B is recognizing school boards to highlight the importance of strong leadership at the board level.